To Africa; My Heart’s Journey

Tomorrow I embark on my long anticipated journey to Africa. To be completely honest, it hasn’t been the easiest preparation. My expectations may have been frivolous, simply because I hoped that I would be taken care of by my own standards. My financial goal was met this morning, my suitcase has yet to be zipped close, and my heart and mind are still being readied. Realistically, life never meets my standards. Truthfully, I shouldn’t set standards in the first place. I have come to the conclusion that our minds are most at peace when we are most dependent on God. 
“So letting your sinful nature control your mind leads to death, but letting the Spirit control your mind leads to life and peace.”
-Romans 8:6
My mind will be at peace as I journey across this beautiful Globe. This is because I won’t reflect on how I can best prepare. I will strive to be free from my expectations, agenda, and control. Instead, I will choose to pray that God would stir my affections for Him and for His people. In this prayer, all fear is vanquished. If my love for Him is so great, so deep, so encompassing- then I believe that all other requests are answered. Not by my expectations or standard, but by my glad submission to His perfect will.
“There is no fear in love, but perfect love casts out fear.”
-1 John 4:18
___________
Tomorrow I head to Dubai, and we plan to stay there for a short time before making the complete trip to Rwanda, Africa. From Rwanda, we will travel to D.R.C. and then back to another part of Rwanda. We will lead conferences, minister to women in small groups, and spend time with women working on small businesses from micro loans. This is what I know, but there will be so much more to be discovered. Funny, isn’t that exactly what God has already begun showing me!?
I love Romans 15:5-6, and it encompasses my heart for this trip. Here are some ways you can be praying.
  • That God would go before me in peace and Truth. Reminding me that it is only His presence that can prepare my heart. And that He would!
  • That I would endure well; depending on Him for my energy, strength, and perseverance.
  • That our team would be unified together and with Christ in perfect love and Harmony.
  • That the Africans we come in contact with would see the countenance of Christ, and all glory and honor would rightfully belong to Him alone.

Here’s to adventure, discovery, and dependence!

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

(and a pretty, instagram-type photo because I don’t have any others.)

Leave a Reply

